The Grove House Makes You Magical – and other reasons why you should apply to be caretaker

Perhaps you were unaware that the Grove House gives you magical powers? VISUAL EVIDENCE. Photo by Phoebe Duvall!
Perhaps you were unaware that the Grove House gives you magical powers? VISUAL EVIDENCE. Photo by Phoebe Duvall!

The Caretaker Application is going out tomorrow! Rising sophomores, juniors, and seniors are ALL eligible to apply (big news!). The deadline is Friday, March 15th by midnight. I’ll hold a casual information session about the position on Monday, March 11th at 4:00 pm in the living room.

There is so much I want to tell you right now that I don’t even know where to begin. I am absolutely bursting with hope and enthusiasm and exhaustion and LOVE for this place, for its incredible people, and for all of the brilliant people who haven’t even gotten involved yet and who I hope will find their way in. I want to write you a more thoughtful love letter when I’ve had more time to process the reality of leaving, but for now, here are some of my thoughts about this once-in-a-lifetime opportunity.

3 (of many) Reasons to Apply: 

1. There’s the obvious, which I’ll just address right away: this house is astounding. I can safely say I will never live in another place like it. Its allure is not at all the glamour of craftsman-era bungalow life that some may expect with a house of this size (not for me anyway), but it is quietly majestic in so many ways. I will deeply miss waking up to the purple mountains in my window, playing music from the orange grove balcony, nesting into the nooks, coming home after a long day and finding just the person I needed to talk to reading in a back room. The light, the light, the light, and the way it streams through the windows! I will miss it all so much.

2. There is so much to learn and so many opportunities to practice here. This house, in so many ways, is your canvas (don’t take that toooo literally though please!). I’ve had the opportunity to learn about and practice a huge range of burgeoning interests, from the seemingly whimsical (hand-lettering, restoration architecture, coffee-making, storytelling!) to extremely pragmatic (communications, event-planning, social media, community organizing!). I’ve also had a lot of important, hard conversations, many of which have challenged me to apply the theories I’ve collected in class to the dynamics and difficulties of real-world spaces. Trying to live my ideals and intellectualisms in the tangible reality of a public place is way hard. I guess it’s not really something I can hope to ‘succeed’ at, just to keep struggling with and growing out of. In any case, I am inexpressibly grateful.

3.  This place is bursting, every single day, with incredible humans to meet and befriend! It’s overwhelming! Everything I’ve put into this house has come a hundred times back in the interactions and relationships I have found here; I really mean it in so many ways when I say that the Grove House loves you back. 

love,

haley

Leave a Reply

